Five vie for North Cowichan mayoralty

At least one new face will grace North Cowichan municipal hall after a race by 17 candidates next month.

B.C.’s Nov. 19 vote will see five of North Cowichan’s six councillors seek re-election, while veteran councillor George Seymour has called it quits.

B.C.’s oldest municipality could be helmed by one of four hopefuls challenging Mayor Tom Walker for his chair.

Mayoral candidates include former mayor Jon Lefebure plus Clayton Balabanov, Scott Baker and Joyce Behnsen.

That five-way mayoralty bout twins the card for six council seats currently occupied by incumbents Ruth Hartmann, Dave Haywood, Garrett Elliott, Al Siebring and John Koury — all seeking another three-year term.

Their challengers include Pat Barnes, Robert Douglas, Roger Hart, Geoff Hincks, Hilary Huntley, Barb Lines, Rod Lowe, Jagtar Singh Mann, Tom Masters, Kate Marsh, Michael Ruge and Jennifer Woike.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Grant aims to promote physical literacy for kids
NDP blasts lottery corporation spending
Charges laid in fatal hit-and-run
Having fun at Hilton Centre
Community comes through for Kiwanis Hilton Centre
Deep Bay Marine Station — whale bones sold out
Police seek machete-wielding attacker
Planned park-in on 72 Avenue cancelled
Missing New West woman surfaces in Quebec

Community Events, December 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Dec 19 edition online now. Browse the archives.