Spots of four electric-vehicle plug-ins being planned during city workshop

Duncan’s first charging statins for electric vehicles are being funding through a provincial grant program. - file
Duncan’s first charging statins for electric vehicles are being funding through a provincial grant program.
— image credit: file

Four electric-vehicle plug-ins will be wired into various locations in the City of Duncan, by March's end, under a provincial green program.

Exactly where that juice will be available will be planned during an October workshop at city hall involving city staff, car owners, groups and businesses toward fingering sites of Duncan's plug-ins by Nov. 30.

Participants also include folks from CVRD, North Cowichan, Cowichan Tribes, DBIA, B.C. Transit, ICBC, Tourism Cowichan, Volunteer Cowichan, Cowichan Green Community, Community Futures, Safer Futures, and Cowichan Energy Alternative, Canadian Electric Vehicles, All Battery Duncan, Viridian Energy Co-operative, and electric-vehicle advocates.

The electro-huddle is being handled by a $5,685 taxpayer-paid consultant called The Community Energy Association

The city has no electric rides, but council may reconsider buying an electric truck when replacing a public-works rig, treasurer Peter de Verteuil said.

Duncan is among communities getting some of the 454 charging stations under a $2.7-million Community-Charging Infrastructure Fund announced in April.

A dozen municipal and regional governments will share $184,416 in funding to plan and identify priority places for 168 stations, in addition to 286 stations proposed by organizations and businesses wishing subsidies for plug-ins.

Juice jacks could include municipal halls, shopping centres, hotels and elsewhere.

Other local communities getting funding for plug-ins, without the planning cash, include Lake Cowichan (2), Ladysmith (3), North Cowichan (1), and the Cowichan Valley Regional District (4).

The CCI Fund is managed by the Fraser Basin Council, accepting charging-station applications until Sept. 28.

All stations must be installed by March 31, 2013.

Other communities getting planning money include the Capital, Nanaimo and Sechelt regional districts, plus the cities of Campbell River, Dawson Creek, Fort St. John, Merritt, Nanaimo, Whistler, Metro Vancouver and Terrace.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Speeders add colour to quiet E&N rail line
Savour Cowichan: Genova proud to be the unofficial ambassador
Malahat road work on target for spring finish
Preliminary plans for new Comox Marina Park revealed to residents
Black bear goes for the salmon at Stamp Falls
Gone but not forgotten
Moss Cottage moved from original site
Looking Back: Jan 23
Staying at home for as long as possible

Community Events, September 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Sep 19 edition online now. Browse the archives.